Posted by: sandlakina | October 17, 2008

Support YES on Prop 8

It’s been a few days since I have written on my own blog.  I have been caught up in the disputes with watching some of the videos and reading some of the other blogs.  Obviously, I need to focus on the positive, the right and true issues.  Although, in saying those words… “right and true”, I suppose that applies to individual beliefs.

I understand how we are all taught differently, or at least we all learn differently from one another.  I hope this makes sense.  Even in under the same roof, in the same family with a mother and a father raising a family of say four children.  Regardless of male or female, each child perceives things completely different from the other.  

We are all individuals living in a world so incredibly diverse.  I am grateful for my upbringing, for my strong foundation in my beliefs.  Yes, I wish others I acquaint with had the same beliefs, but I also understand that each of us is different.  Even with those who do believe in what I believe, even they have their own views.  Is this sounding profound?

In any case, I am in complete support of Prop 8.  I wish we didn’t have to get this far as to have to vote on something that should be so natural.  I am a God-fearing daughter of a loving Heavenly Father.  I know I am created in the image of God.  I know why I am here in this world, at this time, with my family.  This is my test.  I know what is asked of me to do, to live and abide by the laws and ordinances set before me.  I need to choose what I feel is right and true, according to those laws and ordinances.  

I’m not here to do these things all by myself.  I have a comforter to guide and assist me in times of turmoil and grief.  I know that I will be able to overcome any trial set before me because I know I won’t be given anything that I won’t be able to overcome.  It won’t be easy, I’m not saying that.  I know I will have and have had many trials in my life.  It will be my choice to overcome or to dwell.  

May we all continue to be good citizens, good people, good friends, good family members.

Responses

  1. The evidence is in and it’s mounting! Everyone can see it for themselves at http://www.protectmarriage.com, http://www.preservingmarriage.org, and http://www.ifprop8fails.org and on great blogs like yours!

    Prop. 8 is a vote for American Freedom for all of us (you, me, and same-sexuals). I’m proud to stand with ALL Americans to vote YES! On Prop. 8.

  2. Either I am a raving, angry, lunatic activist who is insane enough to be UN-ashamed and UN-apologetic as I demand civil marriage equality – OR – I am a man who simply knows I deserve equality.

    I AM equal. I know it. And I, along with many others, have decided to withhold all federal taxes until we have equality.

    Be adults. I cannot hold all of your hands as you grapple with your phobias, fears, and obsessions. We exist. Deal.

  3. Less than 2 weeks to go! Your hard work will not go unnoticed.

    http://www.protectmarriage.com

    http://www.ifprop8fails.com

    Vote yes on prop 8! Support the stability of our country, support marriage, support freedoms, support children being raised in a home with a mother and father, support the natural order of mankind. Support proposition 8 and its campaign.

    That said, opposition in all things is a must….. and its made me stand stronger than ever on a matter as sacred as marriage and family.

  4. Dear John, You are simply a man confused. Thank you for your comment. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the IRS.

    As for being an “adult”, wow! You poor poor little man. Believe me when I say, we KNOW you are here. We just want you to be a part of the world and live your lives just like everyone else.

    Just “be” John… Just “be”.

  5. Wow such passion and misinformation. First, under the laws which govern the registered domestic partnerships, same sex couples can enjoy all of the legal rights that are guaranteed to couples who must by law register for their marriage license. The problem is only 5% of the same sex couples have filed for this protection. If they feel so passionate, why do they not take the steps necessary to ensure their rights are protected? Second, having just finished our unit on ecology, which covers such things as populations and genetic diversity, organisms which do not reproduce face extinction. By their choice to remove themselves from the natural order of all living things, does set the same sex couple apart. Third, since marriage is a title which is connected directly with religious commitment, marriage should be the label connected with that commitment. Couples who seek to not have a religious marriage and are “married” by a civic employee such as a city mayor, have selected to have a civil union/domestic partnership. The same sex community can have any kind of “party” celebrating their relationship, no one is stopping them. The support of prop 8 protects those who choose to practice their religion from same sex couples who will seek to be married religiously even though that life style goes against the religions moral code. Is that discriminating? No, that is religious freedom.

  6. There are two sports, one is called (American) Football, and the other Rugby. These sports co-exist in the world, in this country and even in the towns we live in.

    The Football folks don’t say, “Rugby, you should conform to the way OUR sport is played”. And conversely, Rugby doesn’t say, “Football, you should conform to the way OUR sport is played”. They each happily play their respective games, with no intention of changing the other.

    It depends on where you are, but you may have an advantage and be more popular if you are a fan of Football, than Rugby, and vice-versa.

    Rugby players can, and do, join Football teams, and vice-versa.

    One day a Rugby player showed up at the Football field to play in that day’s game. He trotted onto the field in his Rugby outfit and holding his Rugby ball. “We’re going to play with MY ball because I have civil rights as a person. You can’t make me play by your rules.” he said to the Football teams.

    It’s simple, by opposing Prop. 8, gays are trying to change the Heterosexual’s game.

    Vote YES on 8!


Leave a Reply

Categories

