Posted by: sandlakina | November 14, 2008

OPRAH SHOW BOYCOTT

OK, I know how we have been asked NOT to retaliate in all the protesting going on, however, when I heard about what Oprah was discussing on today’s show (Nov 15th), I had to chime in. I have been writing posts on her site about how I hope this show will not be completely one-sided. Her guest star is Melissa Etheridge, and apparently Melissa is all “fired up” about prop 8.

Hmmm…. I wonder why?

I just read a great quote from Sir Elton John who is basically saying to leave well enough alone.  He has been with his partner for several years and enjoys all the rights and protections that any couple deserves.  It’s just a name, let it go.

It is more and more frustrating to watch TV shows let alone news channels any more.  This will sound horrible, I know, but thanks to the fires in Montecito, this issue has been taken out of the media for a little while.  And don’t get me started on fires and high wind warnings… let’s call out to all the arsons out there and make sure they know which days will be the best to start a fire!  Ok enough.

I know there are a lot of Oprah fans out there.  Today’s program is going to be extremely frustrating to watch.  Apparently Oprah has already turned away several viewers after making a spectacle of herself last week after the elections were over.  She was rude and ruthless, talk about reverse racism.  At least Ellen has been civil about this whole thing.  Although my husband says I am ban from watching her show either… hahaha.

The fight has just begun.  We have rested for a day, and now are being called up to grin and bare the persecution, turn the other cheek.  I walked my dog this morning wearing my Yes on 8 t-shirt, although I live in a great community where there has been very little if any vandalism or protests.  I will continue to fight and stand tall.

Responses

  1. I wish I had a yes on 8 shirt…….

  2. Why are we so determined to normalize relationships that have been deemed an abomination by God. Marriage is a covenant instituted and clearly defined by God. Those persons who seek to engage in lifestyles that are outside of what God has instituted have the legal right in this country to do so, and no one is denying this right. However, marriage is a covenant and therfore should fall within those guidelines. But if you choose to live an alternative life do not seek the blessings of being recognized as a marriage. Go live the life you choose. You have the right to choose, just don’t expect the Bible to change to support your choice. Marriage is a religious union not a civil one. Do what you do, but don’t seek a covering reserved a man and a woman.

  3. Thanks for posting and for proudly wearing your T-shirt! I hear ya about the Oprah thing. I haven’t liked her for a while. It’s not necessarily about boycotting her, I just can’t stomach the whole thing and listening to her. We jokingly make lists out loud of the people who’s movies we won’t be seeing anymore… and the shows we won’t be watching. I think it doesn’t really constitute boycotting, just being more conscious about the type of media and influences one lets into their life.
    ~Mikken
    http://ivoteyesonprop8.wordpress.com

  4. Continue to be strong. I think the writing is on the wall that this will continue to be a hotspot for CA and across the US.

    If you would like to join us, we are continuing to blog together about these type of issues. let me know, please!

  5. I second that, Beetlebabee. I want a Yes on 8 shirt, too. Actually, I want a shirt that proclaims, “I voted yes on 8.” I’d probably get clobbered. 🙂

    Thanks for this post. I, too, get very frustrated with celebrities using their celebrity-ism to further their own agendas and opinions. Especially when those agendas are so, so wrong.

    Oh, and I loved your reference to the fires! I have been thinking the same thing about how they’ve knocked Prop 8 off the front page. 🙂

    Liz
    whatourcountryneeds.blogspot.com

  6. I hope you all were safe during the fires, and well otherwise. I hope you keep posting, your comments are great.

    http://standingfortruth2008.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

