Posted by: sandlakina | December 16, 2008

Defending the Vote

I have been quiet for a while. Yes, I was tired of all the arguing and frustration. It’s really plain and simple, we were at the beginning of the war. It was a great battle fought… no bloodshed, no major injuries. Rather harsh words and vandalism. It is sad to know that our world has changed so much. Things have become so “normal” so “all the time”. Yes, there have been some good changes. We must always seek to progress in knowledge and spirituality, however, we have become a world of WAY TOO MUCH agency. Yes, we have the choice to do and say what we will, but when that choice infringes on other peoples agency then clearly something is wrong.

What ever happened to courtesy? To respect? To just being kind? It is amazing how abusive we have become as a people. I am constantly hearing from my mother, “I never LET you do that.” Or “You would have never gotten away with that.” How much are getting away with now? How much are we allowing other people to get away with?

I know I sound like I’m babbling, and maybe I am. We all want peace, love and joy in the world… heck, I would be happy with just in California! Oh well, Have a very Merry CHRISTmas to all.

Responses

  1. akinas! i’m glad your are back.

  2. I saw your comment at RadDad’s “Meet the DNA” post. I just wanted to say that I’m glad you’re back and I look forward to reading your thoughts regularly (as regularly as you can, anyway!).

    I agree about how self-gratifying and “now” our society has become. Thank you for reminding us that self-restraint and societal restraint (boundaries) are necessary for the greater good of the whole.

  3. akina, don’t let them get you down! It’s a tough world for sure, but we can’t let them shout us down. No way. Deep breaths, let the misery roll off. 🙂 It’s awesome that we’re not alone. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

